January 2015 Standing Committee News


The Standing Committee of the General Synod met on Tuesday the 27th January 2015 in Church House, Dublin. The meeting was chaired by the Archbishop of Armagh and by the Archbishop of Dublin. Mr Sam Harper led the meeting in a scripture reading and prayers before business commenced. Archbishop Clarke opened by welcoming The Rt Revd Kenneth Kearon, the new Bishop of Limerick & Killaloe, to his first meeting of Standing Committee following his consecration the previous Saturday (24th January) and also Mrs Wendy Walsh, a newly elected under–45 lay member from Armagh Diocese, and the Ven. Andrew Forster now Archdeacon of Ardboe.

Standing Committee Elections 2015
As 2015 is a triennial year, elections to the Standing Committee will take place in the lead up to the General Synod. Letters will be sent to newly elected members of General Synod inviting them to nominate individuals for election to the Standing Committee and nominations (accompanied by confirmation by the person nominated of their consent) must be received to honsecs@ireland.anglican.org or by post to Church of Ireland House, Dublin by 16 April 2015.

Deadlines for General Synod 2015
The following deadlines apply for the General Synod 2015:
Last day for the receipt of Bills (for …read more

Read the full article here: http://ireland.anglican.org/index.php?do=news&newsid=5534

Submit a Comment